Books

Children’s Book Review: Nosotros Means Us by, Paloma Valdivia

Book Title: Nosotros Means Us
Author: Paloma Valdivia
Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers
Release Date: May 11, 2021
Genres: Children’s Picture

A moving bilingual ode to the unshakeable bond between a parent and child in the tradition of Runaway Bunny and The Wonderful Things You Will Be .

If I were a sheep, you would be a lamb.

If I were a bear, you would be a cub.

As a mother holds her toddler, they muse over the way their love would translate if they were different animals. But no matter how they change, they will always be “us.” This bilingual story is a timeless ode to the unshakable bond between parent and child.

Si yo fuera una oveja, tú serías un cordero.

Si yo fuera una osa, tú serías un osenzo.

Con su niño en brazos, una madre contempla cómo sería elamorentre ellos si fueran diferentes animales. Pero por mucho que cambien,no importa. Siempre serán“nosotros”. Este cuento bilingüe es una oda eterna al lazo irrompibleentre madre e hijo.


Paloma Valdivia is a Chilean author/illustrator who studied design at the Pontificia Universidad Católica Chile and has a master’s in Creative Illustration from the Eina School of Art and Design in Barcelona. Her work as an author has been translated into 12 languages. See more of her work at http://palomavaldivia.cl/ or on Instagram and Twitter at @palomavaldivia.


Thank you to Turn the Page Tours for having me as a part of the official blog tour for Nosotros Means Us by, Paloma Valdivia. I do have a little bit of a background learning the Spanish language, and my children have been taking Spanish at school since First Grade. So I decided to share the book with my kids to see what they thought.

Reading it together, everyone really enjoyed the beautiful illustrations. But what was really great was being able to share another language with my kids. They showed off their Spanish language skills by reading out loud to me.

Even if you aren’t studying Spanish, this book is really sweet to share with someone you love!

I give this book 5 Sips!

Enter to win one finished copy of Nosotros Means Us by Paloma Valdivia! Open USA only. There will be 1 winner.

Giveaway starts: Monday, May 10, 2021

Giveaway ends: Monday, May 17, 2021 at 12:00 a.m. CST


BOOK BLOG TOUR

May 10

Turn the Page Tours – Welcome Post/Author Interview

May 11

The Reading Wordsmith – Book Review, Favorite Quotes
Book Butterfly in Dreamland – Book Review

May 12

Angela Walker’s Reviews – Book Review

May 13

DJ Reads Books – Book Review
A Court of Coffee and Books Blog – Spotlight

May 14

Books Are Magic Too – Book Review

May 15

Nat Reviews Books – Book Review

May 16

Books, Tea, Healthy Me – Book Review

BOOKSTAGRAM TOUR

May 10

Turn the Page Tours – Welcome/Blogger’s Choice
Secretreadinglife – Book Review

May 11

Readingwordsmith – Blogger’s Choice
Annielikestoreadandwatchtv – Book Review

May 12

Angelakreais – Blogger’s Choice
Midnightbooklover – Book Review

May 13

DJreadsbooks – Blogger’s Choice
Books_and_dice – Book Review

May 14

Booksaremagictoo – Blogger’s Choice
Onemused – Book Review

May 15

Natreviewsbooks – Blogger’s Choice
Laurasnextchapter – Book Review

May 16

Gotgratitude5 – Blogger’s Choice
Thereadingroom444 – Book Review

Hosted by:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s