Books

Audiobook Review: The Quantum Weirdness of the Almost Kiss

Another great YA audiobook! For fans of The Kiss Quotient and The Bride Test, The Quantum Weirdness of the Almost-Kiss is a fun young adult romance that you won’t want to miss. While this review is of the audiobook, I’m sure the printed version is just as fun! Which one will you choose?

The Quantum Weirdness of the Almost-Kiss
by Amy Noelle Parks (Goodreads Author),
 Nick Mondell (Narrator),
 Elizabeth Cottle (Narrator)
Hardcover, 368 pages
Published January 5th 2021
by Amulet Books

Caleb has always assumed that when she was ready for romance, Evie would choose him. Because he is her best friend, and he loves her, and he has almost kissed her 17 times…

Seventeen-year-old Evie Beckham has never been interested in dating. She’s been fully occupied by her love of mathematics and her frequent battles with anxiety (and besides, she’s always found the idea of kissing to be a little bit icky). But with the help of her best friend and her therapist, Evie’s feeling braver. Maybe even brave enough to enter a prestigious physics competition and to say yes to the new boy who’s been flirting with her.

Caleb Covic knows Evie isn’t ready for romance but assumes that when she is, she will choose him. So Caleb is horrified when he is forced to witness Evie’s meet cute with a floppy-haired, mathematically gifted transfer student. Because Caleb knows the girl never falls for the funny best friend when there’s a mysterious stranger around, he decides to use an online forum to capture Evie’s interest. Now, he’s got Evie wondering if it’s possible to fall in love with a boy she’s never met.

Told in the alternating voices of Evie and Caleb, THE QUANTUM WEIRDNESS OF THE ALMOST KISS is a YA romantic comedy, sure to satisfy fans of Jenny Han, Rainbow Rowell and Stephanie Perkins.


Thank you to NetGalley and the publisher for my copy of this audiobook in exchange for my honest review.

You don’t have to be a science-geek to love The Quantum Weirdness of the Almost-Kiss by, Amy Noelle Parks. Yes, there is a bit of science inherent in the story, but it’s not overwhelming. Think The Kiss Quotient meets The Big Bang Theory. It’s light-hearted and fun and you might even find yourself smiling at the overall cuteness.

I love when books that are written in alternating perspectives are turned into audiobooks with two different narrators. That is the case with The Quantum Weirdness of the Almost-Kiss by, Amy Noelle Parks. As if a sweet story of young love isn’t enough, the narrators voice the book in an entertaining and thoughtful way. You really get to know the characters and feel what they are feeling as they navigate the high stakes world of high school and science competition.

This adorable story of the boy falling for the girl next door is one that you won’t want to miss this year. Add it to your TBR today!

I give this audiobook 4 Sips!

In case you are wondering, here are some of the books referenced in this review:


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s