Books

Book Review and Favorite Quotes: The Silence of Bones by, June Hur

I am excited to be a part of The Fantastic Flying Book Club’s blog tour for The Silence of Bones by, June Hur.


Publisher: Feiwel & Friends
Release Date: April 21st 2020
Genre: Young Adult, Mystery, Historical, Historical Fiction

Synopsis:

I have a mouth, but I mustn’t speak;

Ears, but I mustn’t hear;

Eyes, but I mustn’t see.

1800, Joseon (Korea). Homesick and orphaned sixteen-year-old Seol is living out the ancient curse: “May you live in interesting times.” Indentured to the police bureau, she’s been tasked with assisting a well-respected young inspector with the investigation into the politically charged murder of a noblewoman.

As they delve deeper into the dead woman’s secrets, Seol forms an unlikely bond of friendship with the inspector. But her loyalty is tested when he becomes the prime suspect, and Seol may be the only one capable of discovering what truly happened on the night of the murder.

But in a land where silence and obedience are valued above all else, curiosity can be deadly.

June Hur’s elegant and haunting debut The Silence of Bones is a bloody tale perfect for fans of Kerri Maniscalco and Renée Ahdieh.


The Silence of Bones is filled with many quotable quotes. However, these two from Chapter 20 really stuck out for me.
Be brave and do what is right. For the weary and the frightened, create a paradise on the cold bones of this earth.
Right now, the darkness before us is all that we see, but the bright morning is sure to come.

I read a lot of historical fiction. It’s one of my favorite genres. But recently, much of it has all started to sound the same to me. There is so much European-based historical fiction out there, especially in the World War II era. So I was intrigued when I read the description of this book. Historical fiction – yes. Europe – no. World War II – nope. The Silence of Bones is set in Korea in the early 1800’s.

The first thing I need to admit is that I know very little about Korean history and culture. When I started The Silence of Bones, I felt a step behind. There were many Korean words and references thrown in that I didn’t understand. However, the plot line was so intriguing that I kept coming back for more. At the end, not only did I get read an enjoyable book, but I learned a bit about Korean culture in the early 1800’s as well.

I give this book 3 sips!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s